Cell borders in ListBox

General help with the Ecere Cross Platform GUI toolkit: Window, common controls, events, etc.
Help with the 2D Graphics library: Surface, Display, Bitmap, Font and others.
shakeshuck

Cell borders in ListBox

Post by shakeshuck »

Hi, newbie here :)

Is there somewhere to look to find out what all the properties do? It's a bit overwhelming!

I haven't managed to find one that puts a border round the cells in the listbox. Can someone please point me in the right direction?

As a side note (I haven't signed up for the bug tracker), on Windows 7 opening the DataControls sample, if you go to the listbox properties, under Misc, and click the + next to currentField cell, the IDE crashes. I was poking around trying to work out what things did when this happened - Sorry!
jerome
Site Admin

Re: Cell borders in ListBox

Post by jerome »

Hi shakeshuck,

Welcome to the Ecere community!

F1 in the IDE/Documentor would be the place to look for what the properties do, in addition to hopefully tooltips in the IDE in the future as well, but as you may already have noticed, the documentation is still lacking quite a bit. The actual Ecere source code might be one place to look to have an idea what things do, but of course you are welcome to ask here in the forums or on #ecere on irc.freenode.net, we'll be happy to help you out.

Regarding putting a border around the cells, this is (not very nicely) tied to the listbox behavior.
Lines are only drawn if the 'alwaysEdit' property is set to true. (alwaysEdit refers to the data cells always in 'edit' mode, rather than popping up a data editor each time you select an editable cell, and displaying the data in a different manner otherwise).

Here is some example code:

Code: Select all

import "ecere"

class Form1 : Window
{
   caption = $"Form1";
   background = formColor;
   borderStyle = sizable;
   hasMaximize = true;
   hasMinimize = true;
   hasClose = true;
   clientSize = { 632, 438 };

ListBox listBox1
   {